Daily Devotional 14th of August 2013. Psalm 119:105-106 and 2 Corinthians 3

Hi friends. Hope you’re all doing well. I told you I would be a while until I write again. It sounds funny but things here really work on a different speed. I’ve been int he country for 3 days and I haven’t had the chance to buy a mobile phone chip yet, can you believe this? It’s a different world, but we will get there.

Well, I hope you’ve found enough time to read your Bible and continue your devotionals. I have, but I won’t post them all here now otherwise I will have to wait another day until I figure out the rest of my life. Today I read a little bit os Psalm 119 (Yep, that’s the biggest one) and 2 Corinthians 3. Two interesting things I found, one on each.

One of my friends told me the other day that she is reading the Bible entirely for the first time and she is learning that not only it talks about God but it also has instructions for everything in life. She even said that it feels like an instruction book. I know a lot of people find that funny some times, but on her case, I thought it was appropriate. Well, Psalm 119: 105-106 is a clear example that the word of God does serve us as instructions, lamp to my feet, light to my way. So there you go…

And on 2 Corinthians 3, we find one of the most misused verses int he bible (maybe not, but surely a verse you’ve seen used out of context if you’ve been in church for more than a month). Here is the verse: “…where the Spirit of the Lord is there is freedom”.

A lot of people use this to justify all sorts of things and behaviors being completely ignorant of the context. Trust me, I’ve seen so many cases like this that it is not even worth mentioning. Pay attention next time someone uses this verse and once that happens, read the whole chapter 3 again and tell me if they were genuinely making a case within the context of justifying selfish motives manipulating people with the word of God…

My interpretation is irrelevant, but it is suffice to say that it pays off to read the Bible with  an open mind to interpret what it really means and not what we need justified.

Well, I think that’s enough for a re-start don’t you?

Hope you get a great rest of the week. I’ll be preaching this Friday night, Sunday morning and Sunday evening, so please pray for us that God may use the words He has placed in my heart as a fruitful seed to others.

God bless

Leave a Reply

