50 posts, a special Daily Devotional!

Daily devotional, 8th of August 2013.

Psalm 1115, 116, 117 and 1 Corinthians 14

Hi there all my friends. How are you all doing? Hope you’re getting ready for the weekend already.

Just a heads up: We’re boarding on a long trip this weekend and we won’t have any internet access for a good 4 or 5 days until things get normal again with time zones and etc. Don’t think I’ve forgotten you, it’s just a few days, we will be back sooner than what you think.

I guess I could schedule some posts but that would not be natural. I do this in very specific occasions, but not this… So, most likely you won’t see any posts here for the next week.

For now, our devotional. The Psalms I read are all amazing, and they sort of continue the praise wave. To avoid getting it too long, I thought I would call your attention to one simple fact: The shortest chapter in the Bible is Psalm 117. But bear in mind we’re not supposed to say “Psalm chapter …” because each Psalm is an individual song, so we should just say “Psalm… and the number”. See? you learn something new every day.

If there is one thing we learn from Psalms is this: Praise the Lord!

1 Corinthians 14 for me is a great background for debate about 1 Corinthians 12 (and 13 to make sure we get the whole context there). I would encourage you to do some exegetical studies on these 3 chapters if you’re into this discussion. I would suggest that this will add nothing to you if you’re novice, but if you’ve asked yourself questions about the spiritual gifts already, it’s time to have a look at it.

I won’t give me views here because this is not the point, in fact, one of my 2013 resolutions was to “avoid trying to convince anyone of anything, but instead just present my ideas and let the Holy Spirit do the job”

So here is my idea: The so called “tongues” in Acts, are more likely to be languages and not some non-understandable dialect, obviously because they understood each other. And to back this up, if we look at 1 Corinthians 14, specially verse 10, when Paul converses the idea that there are many languages in the world and all of them have meaning, but we don’t speak all of them, therefore, if someone tries to communicate with me in German for example, it will be like he is strange for me…

But hey, that’s just my opinion, I could be wrong. Everyone has the right to be wrong…

Yeah, I know that this will probably be a shock to a lot of you, specially because I’m involved with a lot of people in churches that believe differently, but hey, this, at least for me, is a non essential, so we can agree to disagree, that’s fine…

I encourage you to study it for yourself. Get two or three different translations and read these chapters as well as the passages in Acts about this issue (there are a few in there)

Well, that was a short one. I hope you enjoy your weekend, remember to join our movement on Facebook using the hash tag #facethebook on your posts, maybe like our page on facebook.com/facethebookmovement and most importantly: Praise the Lord.

Pray for us if you will, for our trip, a safe flight and a good time overseas. I will be in different churches and places every week so that’s going to be exciting! Your prayers will be much appreciated! I’ll make sure I post something every now and again to keep you guys updated.

God bless you all!

Leave a Reply

