Daily devotional, 5th of August 2013. Psalm 106. Who does that???

Daily devotional, 5th of August 2013.

Psalm 106

Good day for all of my friends! It is Monday, it’s a new day, it’s a new week! It’s a new season!!! Like Israel Houghton sings: It’s a new season, it’s a new day… Fresh anointing, coming my way… It’s a season of power!!!

As you can see, I’m excited. For several reasons! let me share a little bit with you. First of all, I’m blessed, my wife is a blessing and this morning I just had another click of how kind God was to me in giving her to me. My daughter is amazing! WOW, she surprises me every day and I just love seeing her growing up. I stop anything to be there and then with her. The trip to the homeland is approaching soon and boy oh boy, I’ve been meeting so many incredible leaders that I think I will need more time to go and visit them all. The #facethebook movement is growing faster than I could imagine and we’ve crossed the line of 50 likes and soon we will cross the 500 mark. Like Seth Godin says, “you don’t need millions of people to change the world, you just need a few committed ones”. Look at Jesus, He only had 12… Well, He was Jesus, so I’m thinking, maybe if we join 1000 we can hope to do 0.000000000001% of what He did, and that would be alright!!!

By the way, next week will mark a special season on the movement, some leaders will be surprised and I’m sure they will enjoy the treat!

I’m excited for the people I’m doing life with too. I’m seeing one recent disciple being deployed and reproducing the movement, oh, what a joy! I’m looking forward to the future in this regards too!

And finally, our blog…. Ohhh our blog, we’re getting close to 50 posts. That’s a big milestone for me. When I started I thought it would die out after 5 or 10. That gives me gas to go until 100 and see what happens then. It’s encouraging to see people all over the world, from different walks of life, saying they enjoy reading it. I consider myself privileged and honored to be an instrument in God’s hands to inspire you. Thank you for your attention and friendship!

Oh yeah, the devotional! I almost forgot… Here we go: Psalm 106. I’ll be very subtle, very concise on this one! I loved it and even though it’s short and simple, it’s powerful!

Check it out, verse 19,20 and 23. “They worshiped a statue! They traded the glorious God for a statue of a grass-eating bull. God wanted to destroy them, but Moses stood in the breach and repelled God’s anger.”

Let’s get into the details: They worshiped a statue… How insane someone has to be to exchange a God who had done amazing miracles, miracles that they witnessed and were part of, miracles that happened in front of their own eyes, miracles that were not a matter of believing or not, they were facts… How could someone who had been through that decide to worship a statue??? I don’t get it…

There is a song that I love called Jolene by Ray LaMontagne… Ok, if you know me, you know that’s not my style, but I like this one because I remember the episodes of Prison Break… Yeah, I buy soundtracks when I like the movies, so what??? Back to the point, on that song, there is a verse that Ray says: “A man needs something he can hold onto ,a nine pound hammer or a woman like you, either one of them things will do.”

What does that have to do with this? Probably not much, but the fact is, we as humans, we need something (you get it? Some THING) tangible, something we can hold onto… Maybe that’s why they build the golden calf. Still, a dumb decision, but maybe we would have done the same, we never know…

Then “God wanted too kill them, but Moses, His chosen one, stood in the breach and repelled his anger.” Lucky they had Moses. Now, all theological differences aside, look at this situation and check if this isn’t very similar to our current situation. Let me rephrase those verses for you and maybe it will click. Here is how the modern days version could look like. 

They worshiped their money (some their cars, some their houses, some their jobs, some their families, some their prostitution, some their sense of freedom, which was false by the way, some their so called intelligence…) They traded the glorious God (who promised and could give them so much more) for these stupid things. yep, THINGS!

God became angry and surely wanted to kill them, it just didn’t happen because Jesus stood in the way and repelled God’s anger, paid for our sins and even though we’ were stubborn, He loved us enough to accept Jesus’ payment for us!

Get it now? I hope you do!

With all that said, I’ll leave you with this question: Have you traded God for anything? Really? Be honest. If you have, it’s a good day to repent and lean on Him and Him alone!

God bless

 

 

Leave a Reply

