I’m quitting!

That’s right, I quit. Well, at least I will try.

No, I’m not quitting the blog, rest assure. Not for now at least! I’m quitting something else.

I have a few friends who have been fighting hard against the habit of smoking. The funny thing is: They all know in their minds and hearts that smoking is bad for their health and they all want to quit. I haven’t found one person who says he or she doesn’t want to quit. Although society has  lots of stereotypes and paradigms about this habit, and I may have shared a few of them, this is not the point.

The point is that I would love to help them quit, but I don’t smoke, never did, and I don’t think I ever will. I hate the smell so I don’t think that will ever be a problem for me. In fact I’m not very experienced with any other bad habit, nor drugs, so the reality is, I’m not the best person to counsel someone trying to quit.

But wait, I do have one very bad habit! I bite my nails! Oh boy, I bite them like they were burgers full of secret aioli sauce from Burger Fuel (if you don’t know who these guys are you don’t know what a wonderful gourmet burger is, go to burgerfuel.co.nz and have a look… And yes, there are a few of them outside of New Zealand for those living out of paradise on earth…)

I’ve been biting my nails since I can remember. I remember when I was a kid, my mother threatened me to put my finger in pepper sauce so I wouldn’t bite them! That was scary! Of course she didn’t do that, C’mon, where is your sense of humour? But she did threatened me…

In another occasion, when I was a teenager, one of my mentors gave me a spray that tasted like shit. It didn’t have any smell, which makes the thing even more evil, but it tasted like shit (Sorry there are no other words to describe that taste) and NO, NO, NO, I never tasted shit, (I know some crazy kids did that when they were very young, but not me, sorry folks…)  so I don’t know the real taste of it (LOL) but I’m sure it’s not much different than that spray! I used that thing once and forgot I had it on and when I had that sweet sour shitful taste in my mouth when I bit my nails I felt like I had condemned my mouth to eternal damnation of horrible odour, plus, I spent almost two days unable to eat anything without thinking about throwing up.

That was a horrible experience. I thought that trauma would help me quit, but two weeks later, there I was watching my NBA games and biting my nails as the clock was running towards the end of the game and the final shot was to be taken by the glorious Allen Iverson from the 76ers during the play-offs against the Lakers… Great times those ones!

So, now that I’m almost 30 and consider myself to be a grown up, father of a wonderful daughter, I have to  set the example for her. And as I believe I have mastered my self control (no, not really, I’m far from that) I thought I would give it another try. And making it public will help my accountability, so if you’re reading this, you can hold me accountable for it. I promise I’ll do my best and if I fall, I’ll post it here. If I manage to keep my fingers out of my mouth for a while, I’ll post the progress when I judge to be the right time for it and when I believe I’ve overcome the habit!

But most importantly, I’m not doing this for myself. Although some people may even develop ulcers for biting their nails, this is an exception to the rule and it doesn’t normally happen to the majority of nail biters. I’m doing this for my smoker friends. I know, I know, it’s not the same, but at least I’ll have something to bargain with and say that I’ve struggled and fought against a bad habit, and with a lot of self control and the help of God, I made it.

So help me God

Amen

2 thoughts on “I’m quitting!

  1. I caught myself up today twice with my fingers in my mouth ready to bite those little nails! Ohhhhhhh, it is HAAAAARDDDDDD! But I managed to stop it… Well, actually, I bit a few times without even noticing it, but as soon as I did, that was it. I stopped it! I’m happy, but it is freaking HARD to do it! So, I guess I’m still on track.

Leave a Reply

