And I didn’t lie

How can I start this… Well, firstly, I hope you’ve had a great weekend. We had a long one here and it was topped by the most amazing prayer meeting I’ve had in a while. So I’m in a great mood for the week.  The prayer meeting was the first corporate event of the church we will launch soon and it’s exciting to see God bringing people from all walks of life together for the same purpose. Honestly, you should have seen the room, young and old (ok, maybe not so old), all dressing styles you would imagine. I loved it!

Well, this is awesome but it’s not what this blog post is about. Today is about an experience I had recently.

One of my New Year’s resolution for this year was to be bluntly honest with myself and with others. I know, that hurts, but it is better this way.

Last week I had an appointment outside work. And you have to understand that where I work, although it’s a big company, the majority (not all) of the leadership still think and live in the industrial era, where people where paid by the hours and productivity meant being busy, with your hands, at your work place.  So in order for me to “not be here” I have to be sick, or use my vacation time (which as the name suggests, should be used for “vacation time”).

I couldn’t re-schedule the appointment as this was important and there was nothing I could do according to the “normal” standards of the world we live in other than tell a lie and call in sick in the beginning of that day. I hate this idea, but that’s how the world operates. Tell me you’ve never done that!!! OK, you’re the only one on earth, but for the other billions of people living in this planet, that’s the reality.

Well, I felt this was wrong, I believe that after I have written and have been constantly looking at my resolutions everyday, God is convicting me of my faults day by day and helping me to step up on those. And that’s what happened.

I had a meeting with my manager and basically told her everything I told you on the lines above and closed with the finial statement: “I can lie to you and you will never know… Or I can do to you what I would like others to do to me and will tell you the truth just as it is… I’m not coming to work on” X” day because I have a personal appointment that is more important than the work I do here, therefore, I’m happy to use either my vacation time or go unpaid, I hope you understand”.

To my surprise, not only she agreed but also offered me other days to have off-work, in case that happens again. Now I don’t know what she was thinking, but I took the offer!

Summary: Lesson from this is simple. Obey God and forget about what the world thinks. There is a good story in the Bible, in chapter 4 and 5 of the book of Acts if you want to read it. I’m sure it will be a blessing to you. It talks exactly about this issue of obeying God versus obeying men.

Obey God, and everything else will fall in place perfectly. It might take some bumps and ups and downs, it might take longer than you expected but ultimately, it does work out. God bless you all.

Leave a Reply

